Georgia’s parliament approves new government

Georgia’s parliament approves new government

Parliament of Georgia has approved a renewed Cabinet after the country's legislative body spent a full day debating the changes, reports.

One hundred and ten Members of Parliament (MPs) voted in favour of the new Government while 19 MPs voted against it. Meanwhile opposition party Patriots of Alliance did not support the new Cabinet of ministers and left the session in protest after party leader Irma Inashvili finished her speech.

According to the Georgian legislation, votes from more than a half of all MPs is enough for the government to be approved. Georgia’s Parliament has 150 seats meaning 110 votes was enough for the new Prime Minister and Cabinet to be given the vote of confidence.

Parliament Speaker Irakli Kobakhidze said the relevant decree about the vote of confidence would be sent to President Giorgi Margvelashvili later this evening.

President will then have two days to appoint Giorgi Kvirikashvili to the role of Prime Minister after which Kvirikashvili will have two days to appoint the Ministers.