Pot 1 of FIFA World Cup draw set

Pot 1 of FIFA World Cup draw set

The 2018 FIFA World Cup qualifying group stage matches in the European area, the South American Football Confederation (CONMEBOL) and in the area of the Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) drew to a close on Wednesday, and their results will determine Pot 1 of the 2018 FIFA World Cup group stage draw.

Seeding for the group stage draw in Pot 1 will be formed regarding the October rating by the Federation Internationale de Football Association (FIFA). All matches that will be taken into account when drawing up the rating have already been played.

Pot 1 is made up of Russia (as the host country), Germany, Brazil, Portugal, Argentina, Belgium, Poland and France. Thus, Russian football players will not play against any of the listed teams at the group stage. Pot 2 consists of Spain, England, Colombia, Mexico and Uruguay. The other teams for Pot 2 will be seeded following the November playoffs.

At present, 23 national teams have secured participation in the World Cup’s final round: teams from Russia (as the host country), England, Argentina, Belgium, Brazil, Germany, Egypt, Iran, Iceland, Spain, Colombia, Costa Rica, Mexico, Nigeria, Panama, Poland, Portugal, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Uruguay, France, South Korea and Japan.

The Final Draw will be held on December 1 in the Kremlin.


Vestnik Kavkaza

on YouTube