Pre-election day of silence announced in Yerevan

Pre-election day of silence announced in Yerevan

May 13 has been announced a day of silence in Yerevan, Armenia’s capital, before the Council of Elders elections scheduled on May 14. No election campaigns are allowed on this day, reports.

There political forces are running for Yerevan’s Council of Elders elections – Yelk (Exit) bloc headed by Nikol Pashinyan, Yerkir Tsirani (Land of Apricot) party headed by Zaruhi Postanjyan and the ruling Republican Party of Armenia headed by Yerevan Mayor Taron Margaryan.

Pursuant to Part 2 of Article 13 of the RA Electoral Code, the official website of the Armenian police has released the final voter lists of the Yerevan Council of Elders elections in accordance with the polling stations.

474 polling stations will be open to voters for the Council of Elders elections, with a total of 5138 observers from 17 local civil society organizations monitoring the election process.