Countries in Trump's 'Muslim ban' first flagged by Obama

Countries in Trump's 'Muslim ban' first flagged by Obama

The seven countries identified in US President Donald Trump's travel ban were ones first identified by the Obama administration as in need of a "further" vetting, White House press secretary Sean Spicer said.

"The Obama administration put these first and foremost … need to have further travel restrictions based on the information we have," Spicer said in an interview on ABC News.

The ban was both justified and necessary, and what it "says is that that we're going to protect our country and our people," he noted.

There are 46 other nations with Muslims that are not part of this. These seven countries were identified by the Obama people as needing further travel scrutiny," he added. 

Trump’s Friday order also calls for a 120-day halt on the admittance of refugees, in addition to an indefinite pause on admitting refugees from Syria.


Vestnik Kavkaza

in Instagram