Erdogan announces ministers of Turkey's new cabinet

Erdogan announces ministers of Turkey's new cabinet

Turkey's President Recep Tayyip Erdogan has announced the new ministers of his cabinet at the press conference yesterday.

Erdogan appointed Chief of General Staff Gen. Hulusi Akar as the new defense minister and his son-in-law Berat Albayrak as the Treasury and Finance Minister, Hurriyet Daily reported.

Erdogan’s vice president is Fuat Oktay, former undersecretary of the office of the prime minister.

Erdogan opted to continue with current Justice Minister Abdülhamit Gül, Interior Minister Süleyman Soylu and Foreign Minister Mevlüt Çavuşoğlu in the new cabinet. These figures, along with Berat Albayrak, who will serve as the Treasury and Finance Minister, will have to resign from the Parliament to join the cabinet.

President’s choice as the Trade Minister Ruhsar Pekcan, a businesswoman who has been serving at Turkey’s largest trade chamber as the deputy head for the woman entrepreunership and at Foreign Economic Relations Board (DEİK).

Mustafa Varank will serve as the Industry and Development Minister in the new cabinet.

Undersecretary of the Energy Ministry Fatih Dönmez was appointed as the Energy Minister while Cahit Turan, former head of the Directorate of Highways, will serve as the Transportation and Infrastructure Minister.

Education Minister Ziya Selçuk has long served at the Education Ministry but he is well-known as the owner of a private college in Turkey.

The ministers will take their oaths on July 10.

The early presidential and parliamentary elections were held in Turkey on June 24. The country’s incumbent leader Recep Tayyip Erdogan won the presidential race in the first round having garnered 52.59% of the vote. The People’s Alliance formed by the ruling Justice and Development Party and the Nationalist Movement Party has secured most seats in national parliament with 53.6% of the vote. The swearing-in ceremony of Turkish President took place yesterday, it was attended by the heads of 22 states, prime ministers and speakers of parliaments of 28 countries, as well as heads of 6 international organizations.


Vestnik Kavkaza

in Tumblr