Lavrov meets with OSCE Minsk Group Co-Chairs and Kasprzyk

Lavrov meets with OSCE Minsk Group Co-Chairs and Kasprzyk

Russian Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov received the Co-Chairs of the OSCE Minsk Group for settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict, including Igor Popov (Russia), Stéphane Visconti (France) and Andrew Schofer (the U.S.), as well as Personal Representative of the OSCE Chairperson-in-Office Andrzej Kasprzyk.

"During the consultations, they discussed the situation in and around Nagorno-Karabakh after the ceasefire agreement signed by the President of Azerbaijan, the Prime Minister of Armenia and the President of Russia.

"The coordination of further mediation efforts of the three countries were considered," the ministry said.

On November 9, Russian President Vladimir Putin, Azerbaijani President Ilham Aliyev and Armenian Prime Minister Nikol Pashinyan signed a joint statement on a complete ceasefire in Nagorno-Karabakh. The Russian leader said the Azerbaijani and Armenian sides would remain on the positions they hold and Russian peacekeepers would be deployed to the region. Besides, Armenia and Azerbaijan should carry out the exchange of prisoners of war and the bodies of those killed. Aghdam region will be returned to Azerbaijan before November 20, Kelbajar region - before November 15, Lachin region - before December 1. Later, Baku gave Yerevan postponement for troops withdrawal from Kelbajar until November 25.


Vestnik Kavkaza

in Telegram