Russia expels 10 US diplomats

Russia expels 10 US diplomats

Russia announced on Wednesday that it was expelling 10 US diplomats, Anadolu agency reports. 

In a statement, the Foreign Ministry said a diplomatic note with the list of the diplomats declared persona non grata had been handed to the deputy head of the US Embassy in Moscow.

The diplomats now have a month to leave Russia by the end of May 21, 2021, the ministry said.

"This measure is a 'mirror' response to the hostile actions of the American side against a number of employees of the Russian Embassy in Washington and the Russian Consulate General in New York, which were groundlessly declared 'persona non grata'," added the statement.

The ministry promised to announce further "response measures to the last wave of the illegal US sanctions against Russia."